Thrifting TIPS for new shoppers!!

Not to toot my own horn, but I kinda pride myself on having a sixth sense for thrifting. I love the thrill of finding unique items and fitting them into the current trends.

It can definitely be time consuming and frustrating, especially if you don’t know any tips and tricks around it. Don’t give up yet – I’m here with a nice little post to save you.

Some people prefer to buy vintage from re-sell sites which is totally okay because you’re still buying second-hand which is AMAZING for the environment (and your bank account).

If you want to start thrifting but need a little help, I’m here to drop some tips for you.

  1. If you’re just starting out and feel overwhelmed by the entire store, pick one or two items that you specifically want to look for, such as jackets and purses. This will make it easier to focus on one section, so you aren’t stressing out about where to start.
  2. If you’re looking for tees or sweatshirts, head straight to the men’s section. This is where they’re going to keep the majority of these unisex pieces, unless you’re looking for tighter women’s fit. This also applies to blazers, sweatpants, belts, etc. Don’t limit yourself to your gender’s section.
  3. If you want to actually find worthy items, you will need to take. your. time. I truly mean this, just skimming the racks will limit your search results immensely. The true gems are tucked away where you wouldn’t even realize.
  4. Take reusable bags. Some stores have carts to push stuff around, but carrying your items in a bag is so much easier when the aisles start to get a little congested. Plus you don’t have to use the plastic bags that most thrift stores give, so it’s a huge win for environment!
  5. Don’t be afraid to try things on. When I first started thrifting, I would barely touch the items until they were washed, let alone try them on. After buying too many pairs of jeans that didn’t fit and too many tops that didn’t look like I envisioned, I got over that. Now I’ll try every item on before I leave the store because I don’t want to waste money on things that don’t fit.

I have plenty more tips for thrifting, but I figured this was a good starting place. I’ll do another post in a few days with more tips, so this one doesn’t end up too long.

Let me know in the comments if any of these made thrifting a little easier for you!

Thanks for reading!

xoxo ky

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started